T Technical Visits

1. Metro of Thessaloniki

The construction of the Thessaloniki subway (Metro) started in the years 1986-1989.  The idea of an underground railway for Thessaloniki was first put forward by Ernest Hébrard, in the framework of the redesign of the city back in the early 1920s after the great fire of 1917. The first phase of the project consists of 9.6 km of an underground line (with two independent single track tunnels), 13 stations and a depot at the southeast end of the line. Most of the line (7.7 km) has been constructed by two Tunnel Boring Machines, while the remaining section of the line is constructed with the Cut and Cover method. Recently, excavations have revealed unique archaeological findings dated back to the Byzantine era, inclusive of a significant crossroad and the 75m long and 5.5m wide, Decumanus road.




2. Egnatia Highway

Egnatia Odos (Greek: Εγνατία Οδός, often translated as Via Egnatia, code: A2) is the Greek part of the European route E90. It is a motorway that extends from the Western port of Igoumenitsa at the Ionian Sea to the Eastern Greek–Turkish border at Kipoi, running a total of 670 km (420 mi). Constructed along unfavorable seismotectonic and geological environment and often abruptly changing mountainous topography, it is thought to be a challenging engineering project and a natural earthquake engineering laboratory with 76 tunnels and 1,650 bridges.



A2 Map Κάθετοι Άξονες


3. Ionia Highway & Rio-Antirrio Bridge

Ionia Odos (Greek: Ιονία Οδός), is part of the Greek Motorway 5 (code: A5), partially still under construction. It starts at Ioannina and it follows the western coastline of mainland Greece down to the Gulf of Corinth. At Rio, it crosses the gulf via the Rio–Antirrio Bridge. Upon completion, the motorway A5 will be the second major north-south road connection in Motorway 1. It will also be part of the Trans-Balkanic Adriatic–Ionian motorway and the European routes E55 and E951. The project includes:

  • 196 km of a new, modern and high-standards motorway
  • 4 bidirectional tunnels of a total length of 11,2 km
  • 24 bridges of a total length of 7 km
  • 77 underpasses and 24 overpasses
  • 392 culverts of various dimensions and types
  • 5 Motorist Service Stations (MSS)
  • 3 Operation and Maintenance Centers
  • 4 Frontal and 5 Lateral Toll Stations



Source: www.neaodos.gr

The Rio–Antirrio Bridge (Greek: Γέφυρα Ρίου-Αντιρρίου), officially called the "Charilaos Trikoupis Bridge", after the statesman who first envisaged it, is one of the world's longest multi-span cable-stayed bridges and the longest of the fully suspended ones (2252m). It crosses the Gulf of Corinth near Patras an area with high seismicity, linking the town of Rio on the Peloponnese peninsula to Antirrio on mainland Greece by road. Its foundations lay on a seabed that reaches 65 meters of depth. This is a world record for a bridge as well as their diameter of 90 meters making of them the world’s largest bridge foundations. It is considered as an engineering masterpiece, since innovative designs and off-shore construction methods had to be implemented to overcome a number of physical challenges: a strait of about 2.500m wide, deep water (up to 65 m) combined with deep soil strata of weak alluviums, strong seismic activity, tectonic movements and adverse high wind actions.


Source: www.gefyra.gr

4. Railway projects in Central Greece

Construction of the New Double High Speed Railway Line Tithorea – Lianokladi – Domokos which replaces the mountainous part of the existing single line, 122 km long, with a New Double High Speed Railway Line, 106 km long, designed for speeds of 160-200 kph. The project is under construction and includes:

  • 4 single track tunnels (per branch) with a total length of 30,837.00 m (Kallidromo and Othris Tunnels)
  • 12 double track tunnels with a total length of 4,499.61 m
  • 18 double track Cut & Cover with a total length of 2,374.75 m
  • 6 single track Cut & Cover with a total length of 1,708.00 m
  • 49 railway bridges with a total length of 6,086.88 m
  • 32 grade separated crossings with a total length of 2,764.50 m
  • 2 new railway stations at Molos and Agios Stefanos and two new stops at Aggies and Thavmakos


Source: www.ergose.gr


logos footer eaee


etee footer2


Under the auspices of the


tcg footer3


With the support of


auth footer


For any further questions regarding the 16ECEE please contact.

T. +30 2310 433099
F. +30 2310 433599